Dawn’s Promise: A Prayer for Peaceful Rest Tonight (Psalm 77)

Oh God,

In the depths of my despair, I cry out to You.

I lift my voice aloud, seeking Your ears. “I cry aloud to God, aloud to God, and he will hear me. In the day of my trouble I seek the Lord; in the night my hand is stretched out without wearying; my soul refuses to be comforted.”

Lord, my soul is troubled, and I cannot find rest.

“When I remember God, I moan; when I meditate, my spirit faints. You hold my eyelids open; I am so troubled that I cannot speak.”

Yet, even in my distress, I choose to remember Your deeds.

“I will remember the deeds of the Lord; yes, I will remember your wonders of old. I will ponder all your work, and meditate on your mighty deeds.”

Lord, I am desperate for Your presence.

“Your way was through the sea, your path through the great waters; yet your footprints were unseen.”

Though I cannot see Your footprints, I know You are with me in the midst of the storm.

Help me, Lord, to cling to Your promises and trust in Your faithfulness.

May Your Word be my anchor in the raging sea of doubt and despair.

In Jesus’ name, I pray. Amen.

Leave a comment